Hurricane Helene Disaster Assistance Programs

FEMA Individual Assistance (IA)

What: North Carolina homeowners and renters in 25 counties and the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians who had uninsured damage or losses caused by Hurricane Helene may be eligible for assistance through the FEMA Individual Assistance program. FEMA may be able to help with serious needs, emergency cash, displacement, temporary lodging, basic home repair costs, personal property loss, or other disaster-caused needs.

Who: Homeowners and renters in Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Clay, Cleveland, Gaston, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes and Yancey counties and the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians can apply.

How to Apply:

There are three ways to apply for FEMA Individual Assistance:

- 1. Apply online at <u>DisasterAssistance.gov</u>
- 2. Use the <u>FEMA App</u> on a mobile device
- 3. Call 800-621-3362 from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. ET daily. The telephone line is open every day and help is available in most languages. If you use a relay service, such as Video Relay Service (VRS), captioned telephone or other service, give FEMA your number for that service.

For more information: Go to FEMA's Individual Assistance website.

State of North Carolina Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA)

What: The North Carolina Division of Employment Security has announced 25 western North Carolina counties impacted by Hurricane Helene as well as the Eastern Band of Cherokees have been approved for Disaster Unemployment Assistance. People in these counties who are unemployed as a direct result of Hurricane Helene may be eligible for unemployment benefits under the DUA program. Business owners and self-employed individuals affected by the storm may also qualify for benefits.

Who: DUA benefits are available for residents of the following counties: Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Clay, Cleveland, Gaston, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yancey Counties as well as the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians of North Carolina. Additional counties may be added to the list of those eligible for DUA at a later date.

How to Apply:

Individuals have 60 days from Oct. 1 to file an application for DUA at <u>des.nc.gov</u> call the DUA Hotline at 919-629-3857.

For more information: Go to DES's Disaster Unemployment Assistance website.

For More Hurricane Helene Information:

North Carolina Department of Public Safety's Helene website: https://www.ncdps.gov/Helene

FEMA disaster website for North Carolina: <u>https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4827</u>